But before I get to that let me say that el kapitan’s drawings are astoundingly good! I can already sort of picture which players are which.

Also SuperPippo, I think el commandante’s post was making the point that we should savour this year’s final because unusually, the best two teams have made it there.

Anyway on to Valdano;

“People often say results are paramount, that, ten years down the line the only thing which will be remembered is the score, but that’s not true. What remains in people’s memories is the search for greatness and the feelings that engenders. We remember Arrigo Sacchi’s AC Milan side more than we remember Fabio Capello’s AC Milan side, even though Capello’s Milan was more successful and more recent. Equally, the Dutch Total Football teams of the 1970s are legendary, far more than West Germany, who beat them in the World Cup final in 1974, or Argentina, who defeated them in the 1978 final. It’s about the search for perfection. We know it doesn’t exist, but it’s our obligation towards football and, maybe, towards humanity to strive towards it. That’s what we remember. That’s what’s special.”

Via Gabriel Marcotti’s blog post.

This fits in with my earlier point about transcendental players. Very few defenders achieve that because the aesthetic quality for a defender is so hard to achieve.

Also, I know I’m contradicting myself slightly, but Valdano’s point is also why it didn’t matter if Barca lost to Chelsea. It would have hurt, but they had already done enough to establish themselves as a special team that we’ll all remember.

