I haven’t been that disheartened by Pakistan’s performances against Sri Lanka because I’ve seen enough building blocks to be optimistic about the future. Fawad Alam opening and Omar Akmal in the middle order, Ajmal and Kaneria’s spin, Abdur Rauf’s bowling and most of all Mohd Aamer. The one thing we’ve needed is for another opener and the person I’ve been waiting on for a couple of years now, could be ready to make the step up.

Umar Amin, a stylish and composed left-handed batsmen has been in the U-19 team and then been doing ok for Pakistan A. He just made 153 out of 315 against a Sri Lankan A side. It could be a one off (he made a first ball duck in the second inning), but I’m confident that he could be the heir to Anwar and Sohail. In terms of style, the player he reminds me most of is Sangakkara. If he can be 3/4th the player he is we’ll have a player on our hands.

