From here on out in the tournament, the lion pictured above has vowed to devour any Dutch player that lays an unnecessarily heavy touch on the ball in the box when attacking; because the buck stops there!

It’s no secret that I am all for the Netherlands lifting the cup in a few short weeks until we realize we will have to wait 4 more years for this greatness. Though I have to say, I feel like I saw three different teams in the opener. Mainly:

I) Awful Denmark
II) Wasteful & Stupid Holland
III) Efficient, Persistent and Effective Holland

I saw (I) for 90 minutes, (II) for the first 45 and (III) for the second half.

What triggered the transition from II to III is either a team talk that involved an Arsene Wenger quality pep talk or the confidence of having a goal on the score sheet within the first few seconds. An own goal at that, but no Oranje fan would give it back, trust me.

I could go on for six pages about what Holland did wrong, but lets focus on the positives.

Attacking wing play, contesting every long ball played in their direction, crisp passing, moments of brilliance and what could have been the goal of the tournament from Van Der Vaart. One watches the World Cup to see their team play and also to see the bar rise with the next generation of footballing tricks being displayed, fortunately I got to see both!

It has to be said though, that the Dutch seem to have been suffering from what is fleetingly referred to as the Adebeyour syndrome, defined in the NEW OFFSIDE TRAP DICTIONARY as “an excessively heavy touch for no good reason, inevitably at an opportunity when someone more competent would have gone on to score”. While RVP’s time at Arsenal warrants sufficient grounds to have been infected by this deadly disease, Van Der Vaart, Kuyt and Sneijder have no excuse.

I’ll talk more about it soon, but all I have to say is that it could have easily been 4-0 people. EASILY.

